RCSB PDB Poster Prize for Student Presentations

Poster Prize Overview

In 2009, the following prizes were awarded:

ECM Poster Prize Winner, Yonca Yuzugullu
Yonca Yuzugullu at ECM


Yonca Yuzugullu was awarded the RCSB PDB Poster Prize at the 25th European Crystallographic Meeting (August 16-21, 2009; Istanbul, Turkey) for Crystallization of bifunctional catalase-phenol oxidase (CATPO) from Scytalidium thermophilum. Yonca Yuzugullu, Chi Trinh, Arwen R. Pearson, Mark A. Smith, Simon Phillips, Ufuk Bakir, Michael J. McPherson, Zumrut B. Ogel (Middle East Technical University, Turkey).

Judges: Many thanks to Elspeth Garman (University of Oxford) and Joel Sussman (Weizmann Institute of Science)

ACA Poster Prize Winner, Magdalena Korczynska
Magdalena Korczynska


At the 2009 Annual Meeting of the American Crystallographic Association (ACA; July 25-30; Toronto, Canada) Magdalena Korczynska was awarded the prize for Structural Insight into Homoserine Transacetylase from Haemophilus influenzae (Magdalena Korczynska (1), I. Ahmad Mirza (1), and Albert M. Berghuis (1,2); (1)Departments of Biochemistry and (2) Microbiology & Immunology, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada).

Judges: Joe Ng (The University of Alabama in Huntsville), John Rose (University of Georgia), and Emil Pai (University of Toronto).

RCSB PDB Poster Prize for Student Presentations winner, Christoph Malisi
Christoph Malisi


The award at the Joint 17th Annual International Conference for Intelligent Systems for Molecular Biology (ISMB) and the 8th European Conference on Computational Biology (ECCB; June 27-July 2; Stockholm, Sweden) went to Christoph Malisi for Automated Scaffold Selection for Enzyme Design (Christoph Malisi (1)(2), Oliver Kohlbacher (2) and Birte Höcker (1); (1) Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Protein Design Group, Tübingen, Germany; (2) Division for Simulation of Biological Systems, Center for Bioinformatics, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen, Germany).

Judges: Marco Punta (Committee Chair, Columbia University), Yana Bromberg (Columbia University), Stefano Lise (University College London), Silvio Tosatto (Universita' di Padova, Italy), Maria Valentini (CRS4, Italy), Curtis Huttenhower (Harvard University), and Lars Arvestad (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden). Thanks also to the full reviewing committee and to the International Society for Computational Biology.