2021 Poster Prizes

Poster Prize Overview

Prizes were awarded at PDB50-ASBMB, ACA, and ISMB/ECCB.


Prizes were awarded at the Inaugural PDB50 meeting hosted by the wwPDB Foundation and ASBMB.

Best in High School:
Nicholas Mamisashvili

Nicholas Mamisashvili

  • Shelter Island High School
  • Molecular Dynamics Simulation of 6PEY.pdb a Novel Mutation in the Enzyme Methylenetetrahydrofolate Reductase
Best in Undergraduate:
Ijeoma Okoye

Ijeoma Okoye

  • Vassar College
  • X-ray and Antioxidant Determination of Butein and 2’,4’-dihydroxy-3,4-dimethoxychalcone to
    Examine their Antimalarial Activity by Binding to Falcipain-2
Best in Graduate:
Daniel Sultanov

Daniel Sultanov

  • New York University
  • Mining for functional ribosomal variants in Saccharomyces cerevisiae
Best in Postdoctoral Scholars:
Seda Kocaman

Seda Kocaman

  • National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
  • Different ATP binding states of the essential AAA (ATPases Associated with various Activities)-ATPase
    Rix7 facilitate substrate translocation in ribosome biogenesis


The RCSB PDB Poster Prize was awarded at the American Crystallographic Association meeting. Many thanks to the judges: Jan Abendroth (UCB BioSciences), Christopher Berndsen (James Madison University), Jennifer Bridwell-Rabb (University of Michigan), Rafael M. Couñago (SGC-UNICAMP).

First Place
Karthik Srinivasan

Karthik Srinivasan

  • Structural analysis of the Toc75 Potra domains from Pisum sativum
  • Karthik Srinivasan, Nicholas Noinaj (Purdue University), Srinivas Chakravarthy (Illinois Institute of Technology),
    Satchal Erramilli (The University of Chicago), Adrian Gonzalez (Molecular Templates Inc.)
Honorable Mention
Brenna Norton-Baker

Brenna Norton-Baker

  • A simple vapor-diffusion method enables protein crystallization inside the HARE serial crystallography chip
  • Brenna Norton-Baker (University of California, Irvine, UCI), Pedram Mehrabi (Universität Hamburg),
    David von Stetten (EMBL), Hendrik Schikora (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, MPSD),
    Ashley O. Kwok (UCI), Rachel W. Martin (UCI), R. J. Dwayne Miller (University of Toronto), Eike C. Schulz (Universität Hamburg)


The RCSB PDB Poster Prize was awarded at Intelligent Systems for Molecular Biology (ISMB)/European Conference on Computational Biology (ECCB). Many thanks to the judges: Jose Duarte and Joan Segura (RCSB PDB).

Tsukasa Nakamura

Tsukasa Nakamura

  • Towards protein interface prediction using SE(3)-Transformer
  • Tsukasa Nakamura, JSPS(PD)/Tohoku University, Japan